1987 240 No spark

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2013, 12:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1987 240 No spark

New user, first post.

I am working on a friends 1987 240DL, and I'm stumped. I'm new to volvos but very good at troubleshooting cars. The car has no spark. About a month ago a new distributor was installed during a tune-up to pass smog. The connector on the old distributor broke off. It had been working fine. The car passed smog great, and ran fine for about a month.

I don't have the wiring diagram or car in front of me, so I'm omiting pin numbers etc. But you should be able to follow me.

No spark. First thing I Checked was the new distributor, because that had been changed. I pulled the distributor from the car, but left it plugged in. I unplugged the connector from the ICU, and connected the distributor (through the engine harness) to 12v and GND, and connected a resistor to the center pin and 12V. I spun the distributor by hand, and observed the signal on the center pin. So the Hall Effect Sensor is good.

Connected the ICU. Disconnected the distributor. I measured the voltage on the connecter to the distributor. 12v-5v-0v. So the ICU is powering the sensor.

I have 12v on both primary connectors on the coil. When I spin the distributor (everything connected, but the distributor out of the block) I see no AC voltage or signal on the primary terminals. Just the 12v DC.

For good measure, I tried a coil I had lying in the garage that I know works. Same result.

Unpluged the ICU and the distributor, and disconnected the coil. I tested all the wires in the engine harness. I checked that they had continuity, that there were no shorts to each other, and no shorts to 12v, and no shorts to ground. The harness seems fine. Old for sure, but electrically ok.