1990 Volvo 740gl low mileage oil light flicker and more -Keep or ditch?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2013, 08:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 Volvo 740gl low mileage oil light flicker and more -Keep or ditch?

Hello everyone, I'm Jon, and I'm turning twenty in a few months. This is my first time post to this forum and I am excited to see what advice I can get!

So this is my Brick:

I own a Blue 1990 Volvo 740Gl with a b230f red block engine with just under 95k miles on it now. It was priced well for my first car ($1200 Us) and had low miles (85k) and I figured it to last quite a while seeing as my friend owned a '89 with over 300k miles on the original engine.

I was told that I bought the car from the second owner, who bought it from an elderly couple that took "very good care" of the car. However, as time passes it seems to be quite riddled with problems.

I seriously doubt the car has ever had its PCV/flame trap cleaned and when I bought the car, it was very low on coolant.

I have had the car for close to 2 years and it has taken me to school and back quite effortlessly and has never had any serious problems until recently. I had done some research on these symptoms and I am now seeking serious advice on what to do service-wise with the car, if anything at all.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Also, I have done some repairs myself, and I would be willing to do repairs myself if I have the right tools and know how.

Here is what has been done to the car:
  • I have replaced the thermostat due to it being broken upon purchase.
  • Spark plugs and wires replaced recently
  • Distributor and cap replaced recently
  • Oil change - March 2013
  • Oil pressure switch replaced
  • Replaced overdrive relay due to old one being faulty and causing overdrive to turn off randomly
  • Cleaned the throttle body to try and fix rough idle.
Technical problems:
  • Flickering oil light