Advice from 1991 Volvo Wagon Owners

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2011, 01:21 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advice from 1991 Volvo Wagon Owners

Hi there!

Would love to hear from you if you have gone through this and what you did. My sweet, 1991 Volvo, 740 Turbo/Intercooler wagon has failed smog and a preeliminary test, too. Apparently, the Nox is high, in the 1400s. It has 280, 000 miles and I am a broke teacher. I have until June 24 to repair it or see if I am eligilble to surrunder it to the DMV for money.

What have you done, or would do? Invest and keep it or sell it or try to turn it over to the state for money?

Otherwise, the car is wonderful besides this problem and it needs new front brakes, a tune up, an oli change-ah!

Thanks,

Teacher in California

Old 05-26-2011, 01:39 PM

Originally Posted by Mama
Hi there!

Would love to hear from you if you have gone through this and what you did. My sweet, 1991 Volvo, 740 Turbo/Intercooler wagon has failed smog and a preeliminary test, too. Apparently, the Nox is high, in the 1400s. It has 280, 000 miles and I am a broke teacher. I have until June 24 to repair it or see if I am eligilble to surrunder it to the DMV for money.

What have you done, or would do? Invest and keep it or sell it or try to turn it over to the state for money?

Otherwise, the car is wonderful besides this problem and it needs new front brakes, a tune up, an oli change-ah!

Thanks,

Teacher in California
Personally.

I would move out of california.

other than that I can't help you, sorry. :/

Old 05-26-2011, 06:19 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

High NOX indicates a lean fuel mixture. I would first off get the car thoroughly serviced (also find somewhere that knows how to read and diagnose the codes from the fuel injection system), dump a bottle of fuel system cleaner in the fuel tank and have the fuel filter replaced too. An oil change always helps with emissions too.
What is the fail ppm for NOX in the testing?