Change auto trans to manual: not too bad or bonehead idea?

Search this Thread

Old 11-24-2006, 03:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Change auto trans to manual: not too bad or bonehead idea?

Hi all,

I just picked up a '90 240 wagon for a song. It's our 4th 240. My son has an '83 wagon, in really fine condition, with a manual trans, and it's a blast to drive.

The auto trans in my '90 is the flakiest thing on the car; it just feels like it's not long for this world. I've found a donor car with an M47 and all the pedals, etc. Is this do-able, or a terrible idea? FWIW, I'm a fairly competent driveway mechanic.

Thanks,

monty

Old 11-25-2006, 10:11 AM
Default RE: Change auto trans to manual: not too bad or bonehead idea?

It's just going to take time and money....I hope you have a garage to work in, it would make things at least a lot more comfortable. Go for it....you can do it. If you are considering a auto to manual swap...think about a 5 or 6 speed manual transmission. Could one be adapted to a Volvo? Ask Tech.

Wedwagon

Old 11-26-2006, 12:13 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: Change auto trans to manual: not too bad or bonehead idea?

Yes it can be done with time.

Also the 5-6 speed out of the Chevy or Ford could be done. It would take some $$$ to get the adaptor plate but I have seen it done before.

my buddy has a 740 with a 6 speed Vette trans in it.

Old 06-16-2010, 10:57 PM
Default A great idea