Heater Fan Inop

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2010, 02:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Heater Fan Inop

Hi, I'm new to the sight. Hoping someone can assist me in trying to get my heating & ac fan to work. Hot here in SC this time of year>

Anyone know anything about problems along this line or have access to a good schematic? My '93 940 wagon's interior fan fails to function - working fine one minute - dead the next. Fuse (#16)is good, fan is good (12vdc directly to fan input & fan runs fine, switch is good (sane thing, 12vdc to switch input & fan runs fine and is speed controlled by the different positions).

The fuse list by the box also lists fuse #6 as being for the fan but I think this is only used on cars with automatic climate control - there are no connections to this fuse on the back of the fuse block. Fuse is good at any rate.

I thought it must be a relay but Volvo says no relay for the fan exists in this model. Tried tracing the wire (looks to be about 12 ga solid black both at the fuse and at the switch.

The problem is that no voltage reaches the switch though it is present at the fuse. I have run a temporary wire from the output of the fuse to the switch and the fan is now running normally. However, now my ac compressor does not engage.

There is something else going on between the fuse and switch. I've tried to trace the wire - it heads through the big bundle behind the fuse panel and looks like behind the dash. I've had the dash out but can not locate the black wire behind it. took all the below dash stuff out - still no luck though it is difficult to get to everything down there.

I did notice that the ac on/off switch does not seem to be electrical. It looks like instead it controls a vacuum line. I put voltage to my compressor clutch and it operates normally so I know its OK.