Help on buying a 240DL?

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2012, 06:37 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help on buying a 240DL?

Hi gang,
Just joined to solicit a little advice from people that know a lot more about these cars than I.

I'm far from a mechanic just occasionally tinker on old air cooled VW I have, but only the things I learned from forums and a few books I bought.

Anyway. Went to look at a 1990 240DL today. (this one: 1990 Volvo 240DL 5spd) as a first car for my son who is turning 16 next week. It runs and drives great. Brakes were a little mushy and the cosmetics are not quite as nice as those pics, but not too bad at all...)

The two things that scared me were:
The instrument cluster at lights showed the bad bulb signal. Seller claimed this was just something "it did" but in fact I noticed that one of the tailights was out. so I'm hoping it's just a bulb. Second was the high beam switch was SUPER finicky took about thirty seconds of playing with it to get it to switch up and down.

I'm presuming that the high beam switch is just hardware failure, but what I'd like to know from you guys is whether I should be concerned about electrical in these cars. I've done some preliminary research and it looks like these guys just eat up tailight bulbs, so maybe it's nothing.
Making matters worse is the car is not real close to my house, (a solid 45 minute drive) so I can't just pop back over there with a bulb and see if that fixes the issue.

Any thoughts? (So for the verbose first post!)
Thanks in advance.
dm

Last edited by dmphx; 04-01-2012 at 08:35 PM.
Old 04-01-2012, 09:22 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Welcome to the forum, she looks great.

That's the best time to take pictures and with a little modifying(hence the credits in the bottom left) no doubt they'll look better than in person.