HI- I will need u guys/gals!

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 11:45 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HI- I will need u guys/gals!

Well..I'm new to the Volvo forum as this is my first one. I bought a 86 240 manual OD...Wagon

it def has some issues. Milage doesn't work and quit at 240K. :-/.. I would like to learn to work on this myself as i won't be able to afford shop prices so i'm hoping it's somewhat feasable for a complete rookie!

A few major things i'm wondering about.

First off, is it normal for these clutches to feel like i'm driving a truck? It feel somewhat scared to get the rpm's up past 3000. I think the clutch may be going bad but i'm not sure since i've never driven a volvo. Always older mk11 Vw's, but always a manual.

Also, temp gauge doesn't work, neither does the heater blower. Brakes seem to feel like a 'grab and stick' if that makes sense. Can feels like they may be rubbing on metal through the brake petal itself. Probably needs new pads and rotors i'm sure.

Anyway, sorrry for the long post just hoping some of you may be able to help a super exited NW girl out who wants to get her car ready for the snow season. Yes i'm aware it's real wheel drive. i do have 4 studs, perhaps that won't help much either!!

Thanks thanks thanks!!

Last edited by GhiaLium; 10-08-2009 at 11:56 PM.
Old 10-09-2009, 04:56 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There's a bunch of guys on Turbobricks that are from the Portland area that would probably help you in person, tell'em I sent ya. Actually my name is different there...

Old 10-09-2009, 06:14 PM