high rough missing idle have done lots of testing and searching

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2011, 01:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default high rough missing idle have done lots of testing and searching

bought a 88 740 turbo that needed a few things; intake manifold gasket ( which was leaking really bad), fuel pump relay and a new connector (insulator) for the pickup/sensor in the dizzy.

It ran really crappy, the manifold gasket was the biggest, but it had problems starting while testing other things, a new dizzy was put in, did the manifold and wouldn't start. replaced the main relay and it started consistently. put back in the old dizzy with a new connector still started every time.

so, I go the thing running, did an emission test which it passed, and it drove, but idled erratic and rough. I work in a shop that specializes in volvos, but I'm not a master volvo tech yet by any means, so I did a bunch of things I know go out to make it dependable; both fuel pumps and filter, timing belt and water pump, belts, air filter, cleaned TB, cleaned oil trap and resealed, tune up.

I'm going overboard with details. my idle stays at 1000-1400rpm and I can't get it to go down for anything. I have access to michell, etc. and did the base idle adjustment, with the screw all the way in it still doesn't idle down. disconnecting or grounding the iac does nothing.

what is interesting is that I found 2 vacuum leaks last night. 1 is the nipple in the pipe from the maf to the turbo inlet and 2 the throttle shaft. I tryed blowing propane in those areas and it didn't change the idle.......

I see a lot of bad idles on this forum with no fixes.

Old 02-28-2011, 06:45 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I see a lot of bad idles on this forum with no fixes.
I wish it weren't true.

I did not see you listing the Idle Air Control valve as having been tested or replaced. One thing you could do to see if the IAC is stuck open is get some hose clamping pliers and clamp it off.