Newbie 2 Part Question

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2011, 10:20 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie 2 Part Question

Hello all,

Seriously looking into getting a 240 for the long hall here. My first question is besides the ABS, DS airbag and more manageable AC system/access in the 1991-1993 wagons, are there any other advantages to purchasing a 91-93 over an earlier year? My range of searching is 1987-1993, but as a newbie I am wondering if I should stick to the later years. Any thoughts would be wonderful.

Second question is I am considering a 1987 240 wagon, but the owner says the AC works, but it just needs a recharge. He isn't 100% sure though. Is this something I should be wary about and that could get very expensive figuring out the AC? How much $ more am I looking at here?

Thanks guys!

Last edited by bluenote76; 07-09-2011 at 10:28 AM.
Old 07-09-2011, 03:01 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

From what I have heard on here before, I think the '87 and '88 is one of the worst for electrical wiring problems, and someone should chime in here to agree with that. Not really sure about the rest of the years, but all of them still have brake light issues, tailgate wiring garbage, and mediocre AC. No other advantage real to the later years except the '93 has standard side mirror heaters and tweeters added to the sound system.

Last edited by Burn Stains; 07-09-2011 at 03:03 PM. Reason: correction.
Old 07-09-2011, 10:21 PM
Super Moderator
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

87 and 88 have fine wiring. The issue was biodegradable insulation and was at it's worst from 82-86. The 93 alone has a larger evaporator in the cabin making it the most efficient a/c. Also the only year built from the factory w/ R134a refrigerant.