some times no start

Old 12-08-2005, 05:42 AM
Default some times no start

newbie here for the volvo forum but any ways back in oct i bought a 1991 volvo 240 wagon for $850 with 168 k it runs mint great car but anyways reciently in the last 2 weeks i have been haveing a problem with no start problem let me discribe i have a DEI viper alarm with remote start i put in when i got the car started up every time no proble till like 2 weeks when i hit the remote start i can hear the relay in the remote start harrness but the starter dont turn but when i get in when this happens put the key in and turn it to the start postion at still dont go i have to turn it off and to the start postion alke 3-6 times it almost sounds like a flat spot on the starter but after a few time of on off it cracks right up some time this will happens a couple of times a day and then it will go a couple of days with no problem so i know it is not the ingition switch bc the remote starter bypass's the switch so the only thing i can think of is it is after the switch i have check it all out i have put remote starters in trucks and car for 5 years now and never had this problem so i think it is eather 1 bad wiring going to the starter 2 bad starter but also while i am here b4 i forget about it i have had this problem since i got the car after it cranks and the engine take's over it sounds like the starter is sticking like the gear an't getting pushed back away from the fly wheel it almost sounds like a grinding noise but the diminishes withing a second or 2.

would all of this equal to a bad starter or what