Start up check list after sitting

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2023, 05:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post Start up check list after sitting

Hi Fellow Volvo enthusiasts,

I am super excited to become a member of this society. IMHO cars really embody the personality of their owners. Some of the nicest people I met drive Volvo wagons. Anyway, just picked up a one-owner 740 wagon yesterday and I plan to slowly make that my daily driver. The car last ran in 2015 but it fired up yesterday (the owner wanted to show me it runs), runs rough, smelled like turpentine, and eventually died. The car is sitting in my garage right now (without a battery), and I am looking for some recommendations in what simple stuff I can do in order to prepare it to start.

A little note about myself: I am an undergrad mechanical engineer studying in the United States, no master mechanic but had some backyard mechanical experience fixing up BMW E30s, old fords, and Range Rover classics (awesome cars despite the rep, but too high running cost for me). Currently, the Volvo is my only car and I hope it will be reliable transportation for a long time to come.

This is what I am thinking:
1. Battery
2. Although gas is old, I don't see a drain plug on the tank, and last time I tried draining the gas from my range rover killed the fuel pump so I am inclined to add new gas to dilute it and maybe some additive? Would this be sufficient given the car already starts on its own?
3. Fluid checks, coolant and motor oil
4. Clean MAF? Don't know how though.
5. New air filter and motor oil once it starts.
6. is it necessary to squirt some WD40 in the spark plug holes?
7. How necessary is it to change the fuel filter or should I consider doing that later?
Any input would be appreciated.
1989 740 GL Wagon

Old 04-17-2023, 09:45 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post