740 turbo No spark

Search this Thread

Old 09-26-2010, 10:03 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 740 turbo No spark

Please help: I am a full time student, have 2 part-time jobs, I’m a single mom of 3 children and live 6.8 miles from nearest bus! I purchased an 88 Volvo 740 turbo with 72k miles 5 months ago and it ran beautifully except for stalling every so often when I was going very slow (example going over a speed bump) but it would start right back up in neutral. I have been very careful to get oil changes with high mileage oil and add fuel cleaner once a month on a full tank of gas. Then 2 months ago the a/c went out. I first noticed spikes in the voltage and then a nasty squealing sound. I live in S. central Texas but I stopped using it and it was very uncomfortable but the car ran fine even though the voltage showed up high. Then 1 month ago I accidently let the fuel get very low. When I filled it up at the station (I didn’t force the gas to overfill) I got back in the car and was calculating my gas mileage when a guy came up to my window and told me that fuel was gushing out of the bottom of my car. He said he was a mechanic and could take a look at it. I was going to have it towed but the gas attendant made me move the car and since I could do that I drove the car to his shop where he jacked it up and said the gasket before the tank was bad. He put some epoxy on it and told me to bring it back to have the tank dropped when I could. I applied for a student loan but have not received that yet. I have only been putting a ½ tank of gas in since but about a week later the car started dying at high speeds (while on the highway). Two weeks ago it died repeatedly on the way to school and it was very difficult to get started again, I managed to get to school and then it would not start again. I replaced the voltage regulator on the alternator and the car would start but not remain running. Then some friends helped me tow the car to their house and we put a new