Transmission Mount Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 09:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Mount Replacement

Below is a step by step on how to replace a 940 transmission mount. The job is fairly simple and should take roughly one hour depending on your access to tools, experience, rust, etc. I am not a mechanic but I know enough about vehicles to complete this task. Keep that in mind as you consider whether or not to do this yourself because once again, it's not difficult. If anyone has any questions, comments or suggestions please share them. As always, it's a good idea to use PB Blaster or an anti-rusting agent prior to any work, letting it sit for 24 hours if possible.

Note: This method may apply or be very similar to 240/740/850 models as well but I'm not positive. Be sure to inspect your vehicle's setup before progressing.

You will need:

1. Ramps
2. Pump Jack with a 2x4 piece of wood
3. Flex Head Ratchet
4. 12mm, 14mm and 15mm sockets
5. PB Blaster or other anti-rust agent
6. White Lithium/Shop grease
7. New transmission mount which can be found here

To begin, back up your vehicle onto ramps so that it is properly raised. Next, jack underneath the middle of the transmission drain pan with the piece of wood seated between the jack and transmission pan horizontally across the transmission. As you do this, be careful not to jack the transmission too much. Do not be afraid if the transmission raises slightly, in fact this is necessary to make sure the jack is bearing the weight. However, be advised not to excessively jack the tranny or major damage could occur.