Two '88 240 issues: one is a/c and the other fuel

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2012, 09:23 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thumbs up Two '88 240 issues: one is a/c and the other fuel

First post!

I've had my 240 since February of this year. Love the car and have done a lot of work to it to make is presentable. When I got it, there was significant front end damage and the inside was a wreck all the way around.

Alas, I am not a mechanic. I love fixing cars up looks wise but when it comes to turning wrenches I don't know a whole lot. Luckily I know a couple of good mechanics and luckily this car hasn't needed a lot of work mechanically.

A couple is issues I'd like to ask about and see if anyone has had anything similar.

First is the a/c. To start off I had them put in a blower motor since the one in there was no good. Ok, great, but still no cold air, it just blows hot. So they checked it out and everything under the hood seems to be fine: full of freon, compressors kicking in, lines are cold where they should be, etc. so they checked in the inside and we tinkered with the hot/cold control, it wasn't working properly so we put in a heater control valve today. So now, it will switch between hot and cold air, but it's still not cold air like coming off of an air conditioner, it's just sort of cold like cool air blowing from the outside. Anyone have ay idea of where to go next? Both of the repairs I had done were necessary but it's still not getting as cold as it should in the cabin.