Tying to solve 1982 245 with super high idle and found a bunch of weird 'fixes'

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2019, 06:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tying to solve 1982 245 with super high idle and found a bunch of weird 'fixes'

Hello:

So my 1982 245 has a very high idle -- especially in park/neutral -- and I've been trying to solve it.

While attempting to fine the idle adjustment screw I discovered what appears to be some very rigged solutions to past problems. I purchased the car from a woman who had a Volvo mechanic basically hobble it together out of two parts cars and I'm slowly discovering more and more interesting fixes to solutions. I'm a very very amateur mechanic so bear with me here.

I'm wondering what this 'fix' is:

As you can see its right below the intake manifold. From what I can discern from the manual I have it seems like this should be where the idle adjustment screw/etc is? I'm assuming this being weirdly zip tied etc might have something to do with my high idle as it seems like this would change air flow/etc.

ALSO:

Off of the air flow sensor I discovered this hose coming off the front with a screw in it -- I'm assuming to 'seal' it... what is there? Where should it be going?

ANY advice/ideas would be amazing. I recently moved across the country (to Philadelphia) so I don't have the wealth of resources I had in Portland to have somebody just take a look at it when things are over my head.

Thanks.

Old 01-24-2019, 09:13 PM
lev
Received 134 Likes on 125 Posts

Do you have heat? The hose looks like bypassed heater hose... The bolt, not sure; '82 is not that familiar to me.

Old 01-25-2019, 02:23 AM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

that bolt looks like its on a vacuum fitting on the throttle body?

sadly, few people are familiar with the early CIS-E 240's anymore, I think 82 was the last year for them.

Old 01-25-2019, 07:40 AM

Originally Posted by lev