what is this???

Search this Thread

Old 12-28-2015, 11:24 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default what is this???

So the front half of my turbo on my 82 244 came loose. I went out and bought another used one from a guy on craigslist. When i put them side by side i noticed the manifold i got was the same but the turbo was different. The only difference is an threaded inlet on the sides of the turbo. My guess would be that i ended up buying a watercooled turbo. This is my first ever turbo car no i will admit that i am a newbie to turbos and only have a fair knowledge at best on Volvo's. Im learning as im fixing. So can anyone tell me if i am correct and if this turbo is actually better than the one i have on their now. Here is the pic of the inlet.

Attached Thumbnails what is this???-turbo.jpg  
Old 12-28-2015, 01:58 PM
no mo volvo
Received 101 Likes on 94 Posts

Volvo has used a lot of different turbos over the years, but I've never seen/touched a 82 240T, so no idea what was on those.

this is the mitsubishi out of a 1991

that zigzag hose to pipe is water cooling, from the overflow bottle. there's also oil plumbing on these.

Old 12-28-2015, 02:14 PM

Originally Posted by pierce
Volvo has used a lot of different turbos over the years, but I've never seen/touched a 82 240T, so no idea what was on those.

this is the mitsubishi out of a 1991

that zigzag hose to pipe is water cooling, from the overflow bottle. there's also oil plumbing on these.
That on is also different then mine. Im not sure what year the one i bought came from but i know it was for a 240. The one one my volvo has the oil line but nothing else. Ill snap a pic of the one that is on mine when i got out for my next break at work. The turbo i bought has the same threaded inlet on both sides. Do you think it would be safe to assume that it is an inlet and outlet for water cooling. If so can i just put a T in my heater hoses for the water to run thru?

Old 12-28-2015, 03:02 PM
no mo volvo