960 raDIATOR FAN ISSUE

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2013, 11:56 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 960 raDIATOR FAN ISSUE

Hi All: I'm a retired Volvo tech, now volunteering with a local non profit (Wheels4Hope) to repair donated cars and give them to folks who can't otherwise buy a vehicle. We have a '96 960--the radiator fan quits intermittently, causing the A/C pressure to go high and dump "freon".
We tried a new fan relay, with the same problem. Personally, I haven't been able to make it act up. I suspect the high pressure switch at the condenser.
But, when I unplug the switch, the fan keeps running--I thought it would shut down. (During this test the engine temp wasn't high enough to turn on the fan). I have the Volvo diagram, but no explanation of how the engine ecm controls the fan. Apparently the ECT is ok since there are no ck. eng. codes and engine runs well. Is there a way to test the A/C high pressure switch--it has three wires. I'm thinking one is signal from the ecm, and the others are high pressure and very high pressure signals back to the ecm? Why wouldn't the fan shut off when I unplug that switch? And, is the fan single speed, or dual speed? I never noticed...
Thanks!

Old 01-11-2013, 09:16 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by wheelsforhope1941
Hi All: I'm a retired Volvo tech, now volunteering with a local non profit (Wheels4Hope) to repair donated cars and give them to folks who can't otherwise buy a vehicle. We have a '96 960--the radiator fan quits intermittently, causing the A/C pressure to go high and dump "freon".

HP Sensor's job is to cut-out (and cut-in), so that the compressor safety valve wouldn't have to "dump". Dump is supposed to be a last-ditch feature. I would be extremely nervous if I had more than 2 dumps -- what else could bust? Some compressors' dump valves are single-use only. Even if not, I would not push them.