A few general questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2013, 03:22 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A few general questions

Hey all -- apologies if this has all been covered to death, I'm a new forum member and am still checking through FAQs and so forth.

I have been tasked with replacing the radiator (and accompanying hoses, thermostat, and so forth) on a friend's 1996 (or maybe 97?) Volvo 960; I'm fairly handy and have done plenty of my own car work, but I've never worked on a Volvo before, and I was wondering if there are any known gotchas or things I should keep in mind before I start taking stuff apart (I do not currently have any service manuals, though a Chilton's manual is allegedly on the way and will be here within the next week or so).

Also; what are the general common tools that a mid-90s 960 will need (socket / wrench sizes and so on)? My Mazda is apparently made out of nothing but 14 and 11mm sockets, I'm just wondering if Volvo has a similar convention.

Thanks!

Old 10-26-2013, 08:34 PM

Hi, I inherited the Chiltons book with my S90 about a month ago, and I feel like throwing it away. I haven't learned anything from it. I will share with you what I know generally.

You will need lots of Torx screwdrivers and sockets.

If you need to replace hose clamps do not use the clamps they sell at the auto/hardware store. If you look at the factory clamps they have rolled edges and do not severely bite into the hose. This is one reason it lasted 15+ years. You can get nice hose clamps from mcmaster-carr. Get some emery cloth too to clean nipples. If you do this right it will not leak again for another 15 years. None of the aftermarket hoses are as good as Volvo's.

If your dealer has a high price for blue coolant, you can probably find it cheaper at the benz or bmw dealer. The import auto store in my town carries those two too. FCP has it for the same price. G05 is okay too, but it's more expensive for me to buy than the benz coolant!