Going to DIY my 1996 960's timing belt, is there a step by step guide out there?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2018, 12:34 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Going to DIY my 1996 960's timing belt, is there a step by step guide out there?

I'm not a mechanic. Not even close. I'm a caregiver for disabled people in fact, which requires me to use my own car for work all day every day. Needless to say, my paycheck is pretty small and my car's maintenance needs are getting expensive. I've been doing as much work on it as I can on my own and learning as I go, but... well, this is my first really high stakes project.

As I understand it with interference engines, if you get the timing even a tooth off the engine explodes. If the belt breaks, the engine explodes. I need my engine not to explode. My mechanic wants around $1k to do the timing belt. I don't have that kind of money. The belt is way past due though, the water pump is leaking, and i ordered myself a kit.

Now... I could use all the help i can get with this. A step by step guide for people who don't know what they're doing would be great. Or just advice in general from anyone who has done this, and can give me a good idea of how not to cause a catastrophic engine failure. If i lose my car i'll be out of a job, and living paycheck to paycheck that's real bad. But that's also why I'd rather get this belt replaced sooner than later.

Old 04-28-2018, 02:38 PM
Super Moderator
Received 485 Likes on 466 Posts

google "960 timing belt replacement" and check youtube for vids. Also look at http://www.volvotips.com/index.php/9...-manual/]Volvo 960 service & repair manual Most timing belts work the same way and your car doesn't have the variable valve timing so that simplifies things. Key is to mark the cam and crank timing, read up on how to align the cams to the crank or use a cam lock tool. when you are done, remember to hand crank clockwise to make sure you didn't grossly misalign before trying to start.