Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

1993 850 Stalling

Old 03-14-2008, 10:50 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 850 Stalling

Hello Everyone. I'm new to this post, as I recently purchased a 1993 Volvo 850 about a month ago. The car has actually been doing pretty good so far, except that occasionally it stalls on us.

As I haven't had the finances to do any repairs, I haven't tested anything out yet, except for the charging system. Battery tested fine, and my Alternator tested at 12.65. After about the 3rd time it actually stalled on us, the battery was dead, as it stalled about 3 times in about 20 minutes. So that's when we had them tested. Charged battery to a full charge, hasn't had trouble starting since, so I don't believe the issue is with the alternator/battery. The car seems to stall only when the car is at least at regular running temperature. The last time this happened, we were on the freeway. The temperature gauge, which seems to work just fine, was not even close to being hot. All the sudden we just lose any gas at all. The motor still runs until we get closer to idleing rpms, and then it just dies. This has happened as well just letting the car sit and idle for about 15-20 minutes, and it just stalls. I checked the spark plugs, and they seem a little old, but not bad. I will be doing a little tune up in a week or so, spark plugs, wires, distributor cap/rotor. I'm thinking it may be something with the fuel pump/relay, as the motor seems to keep running until the rpms die down. I would really like to keep from spending $250 just for the fuel pump, so any ideas certainly would help, and would be greatly appreciated. BTW, the car is a non turbo. Thanks!

Tim

Old 03-15-2008, 06:45 AM
Administrator
Received 38 Likes on 36 Posts
Default RE: 1993 850 Stalling

You say the Alt is only charging 12.65?
If so thats way to low.