Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

1997 850 sedan, check engine light on?

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2013, 12:37 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 850 sedan, check engine light on?

I know I'm going to have to have the OBD-II read at an auto shop, but I was wondering what some common causes are for the check engine light on these. I'm new to Volvos.

I purchased the 850 from a guy who was a Volvo enthusiast and had taken really good care of the car; the only issues he was aware of was a very minor oil drip (something I have yet to observe) and the automatic antenna was broken (won't retract when the car is turned off). Other small quirks were cosmetic things— couple of chips in the windshield, and rust on the alloy wheels because the car had originally come from his in-laws in Michigan.

The car has 134k miles on it, but runs like a gem. It had an oil change done last month and he also had the heater core replaced the week before I bought the car from him. I test drove it prior to purchasing and it drove like a gem; totally smooth, no funny noises, nothing, and has continued to drive flawlessly. In fact, I haven't noticed anything odd about the car at all aside from the heater making short squeaking noises every once in awhile (mostly when running it high)— that is, aside from the check engine light. The check engine light came on the day after I bought the car, while I was driving on the freeway, and hasn't shut off since. We've had unusually cold weather here (well below freezing), for what that's worth, not sure if that could affect anything.