Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

850 low idol, stall when stopped

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2013, 09:14 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 850 low idol, stall when stopped

Hey there everyone, I have a 1997 volvo 850, everything seems great on it except for this problem. (which happens to be a pretty big one, or so I think.)

I've looked through some of the forums on this site and some others about what it may be but seeing how I am no mechanic and and not all the symptoms on the other cars happen to mine, I figure it would be best to post on here before I went off and started purchasing parts.

So, to get to it.. My 97 Volvo 850 starts up fine bit when you start going, slow or fast it seems for a few mins sometimes you can feel it "fall on its self" in the peddle, I monitor the rpms while driving (usually above 35mph) and the rpms don't fluctuate at Ll, but it kind of feels as if the car isn't getting any gas. When you try to accelerate after it has fallen on it's self it'll feel like its not getting enough power. When this happens I can maintain the speed I am at or even accelerate eventually (just takes much longer to get the power) but when I slow down to about 15 - 10 mph you can notice the rpms will fluctuate. The will sink almost all the way down and you can feel the car rumbling then it'll go back up. It'll repeat this process until you either (eventually) speed back up, or if you slow down any slower or to a complete stop it'll stall on you. (it doesn't always stall, but most of the time)

After it has stalled I'll usually leave the car off for a min then start it back up and it'll run cometely fine again for a few mins until it falls back on its self.

(by falling on its self I mean you can feel the lack of power of isn't getting. Out of the blue.)