Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

97 N/A Sedan with some problems

Old 03-22-2013, 05:08 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 N/A Sedan with some problems

Hi gents, I just bought a 1997 850 GLT N/A sedan with 180k on it.
The interior is fairly decent and it purrs like a kitten.

I'm new to the whole turning wrenches thing, but as one mod told me on my first post, I need to learn if I'm going to own a Volvo! I thought I would come to you and see if you had any tips on whats going on with the car.

1. When first starting the car, ABS and TRAC lights come on and stay on until I literally jiggle the key while it is in the ignition. I cannot use my lights or blinkers until I jiggle it enough to make the ABS light go out!

2. The radio isn't getting any power. The fuse under the hood is good and I replaced it just in case.

3. SRS light is on.

4. (Edit) Also, when I shift out of park, I have to use the manual gear release switch on the side of the gear selector.

Other than these problems, the car runs great. I am not doing the repairs by myself, I have a buddy who has worked on cars since before he was out of diapers helping me.

Thank you for the help!

Dru

Last edited by Dru Morgan; 03-22-2013 at 06:38 AM.
Old 03-22-2013, 07:26 AM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

Hey Dru, all of your issues (except the SRS light) are likely due to the same problem, a bad ignition switch. Look at this link:
https://volvoforums.com/forum/volvo-...-issues-56256/

You can do this fix yourself. Order the part from an on-line vendor like www.FCPEuro.com or www.iPdUSA.com and I'll post a video to show you how. That is, if you can figure out how to lase a pair of sneakers?

Old 03-22-2013, 01:47 PM

Right on, I appreciate the links.

Who knows, I might have to go to Velcro shoes if I can't!

Old 03-22-2013, 02:32 PM
Administrator