Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Just a few maintenance questions!

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2012, 04:40 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just a few maintenance questions!

First off ill start by saying im no mechanic, but im treating my 850 GLT as a project so i need to learn so i have a few questions:

-What are the signs that my car might need new springs or any sign that something is wrong with the suspension?

-Will i get the same gas mileage if i leave my car in sport?

-Somebody recommended that i clean my throttle body, where is that located?

Old 06-14-2012, 08:42 PM
Administrator
Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

The throttle body is located below the throttle linkage (the black cover is removed in the photo). The black tube elbow attaches to the front of it. Make sure if you try to clean it you only use throttle body cleaner and not carb cleaner. You might want to pull up a youtube video or two and watch how someone else has done theirs. You should have a throttle body gasket on hand if you try to remove it for cleaning as it's likely the old one will rip coming off.

Your question on the suspension is a little too vague. There are any number of noises that could indicate a problem with any number of components in the front or rear suspension systems. Noises, vibrations or clunks can all indicate a problem.
Your springs would definitely be worn out if you notice your vehicle bottoming out on minor bumps or sagging excessively with only a minor load in it. There is also a table where you can measure your "ride height" to tell if the springs are sagging.

Sport mode is "sportier" and would use more gas, how much more I don't know but maybe someone has run a tank or two in each mode and can chime in with their results.

Down load the manual and do a little reading.

http://www.matthewsvolvosite.com/dow.../Volvo_850.zip