Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Part ID help

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2008, 05:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Part ID help

97 volvo 850 non turbo 2.5L

hi! just wanna know what this valve thing is doing inside the airbox hose where air comes into the box? what does it do? looks like it has a spring. does it open and close or is it like this (halfway open) the whole time? turned on the engine doesnt seem to move. sorry noob here hehe

btw i opened up the hose on purpose

CHEERS!

Old 02-27-2008, 08:31 AM
Super Moderator
Received 34 Likes on 34 Posts
Default RE: Part ID help

I beleive it is the air intake "thermostat" and associated damper door. See this threadfor more info https://volvoforums.com/m_93513/tm.htm

Glenn

Old 02-27-2008, 07:00 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I think I can answer two questions at once but I am confused buy the hard plastic line. The blue ? line on your other post appears to feed a vacuum switch that is pictured to the right of the cold air intake in the picture on this post. The 1997 had a different setup than the older N/A cars but since both of my N/A's are the older style with the wax thermostats I can't look and take pictures to help you. I did run across an air box on eBay today that has the vacuum setup from a '97 but it doesn't have the hard plastic line - it has a rubber vacuum hose. Search eBay motors for Volvo 850 Air Box and you will find one from a '97 that shows the vacuum line.

The Green ? line I believe is the fresh air line to the IAC valve. The red ? line I'm not sure of but it might be the cruise control line.

I think it was on this board where someone just ripped the whole flapper out and then jammed some tin foil into the hot air side to seal it off. Problem solved - next problem.

Hopefully that helps.

...Lee

Old 02-27-2008, 08:46 PM