Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

PCV system service troubles 94 850 n/a - help please!

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2013, 11:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default PCV system service troubles 94 850 n/a - help please!

Hello again good people of volvoforums, I come to you seeking help and advice. I started the PCV system on my 94 850 N/A today, and it was BAD:

Name:  20130923_183307_zps784c94da.jpg
Views: 2020
Size:  58.6 KB

Name:  20130923_194432_zps97d71b73.jpg
Views: 1496
Size:  57.6 KB

In the process, I discovered a few discrepancies that didn't seem to match up with the videos/instruction threads I'd seen for this service. In that regard, I've got a few questions/requests:

1. First on the list is the vacuum tree:

Name:  20130923_170623_zps83e8df7e.jpg
Views: 1335
Size:  27.7 KB

I'm no expert, but that piece of hose with a bolt jammed into it does not appear factory. Was this just a makeshift replacement for a cracked cap, or is there supposed to be a vacuum line running to that spot. For that matter, are all the capped lines supposed to be that way? I was under the impression that there should be at least 2 vacuum lines running to the tree.

2. Is there supposed to be a hose connected to the little component on the underside of the intake manifold seen here?:

Name:  20130923_194511_zps91506da3.jpg
Views: 1814
Size:  59.5 KB

There was definitely nothing connected to it, which seems iffy. Additionally, could someone clue me in to what exactly this component is? I believe it is the choke control, but am not sure. If it is, where in the world is the vacuum line going to it supposed to be coming from?

3. How critical is the intake manifold support bracket? I ask because whoever worked on this car last decided that it was a good idea to leave it out and as such, I do not have one.