Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Rattling noise coming from engine!!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-16-2011, 01:23 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rattling noise coming from engine!!!

I notice every time I start the car, it revs high then goes back to normal but besides that, I hear this rattling noise while the car is idling. Is that a normal thing for volkswagen's because I heard another car with the same clicking type rattling noise. I know I'm a noob but just wondering, thanks.

The following users liked this post:
jp291 (09-02-2022)
Old 10-16-2011, 12:04 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ok.... Well what year make and model?

When did the sound start?
Have you tried removing the serp belt and run the car to see if it goes away?

Old 10-16-2011, 07:06 PM

Originally Posted by MattyXXL
Ok.... Well what year make and model?

When did the sound start?
Have you tried removing the serp belt and run the car to see if it goes away?
1996 850 glt automatic, sound started along time ago and I haven't tried removing the serp belt, how do I go about this? Sometimes the sound is loud after a long drive after the car starts up again but the sound has been there for awhile. it sounds like this, 98 Volvo S70 GLT Engine Ticking - YouTube it's another volvo but it sounds like mine.

Old 10-16-2011, 09:57 PM

That is a valve tap in that video...

What is your oil level at?
How often do you change your oil?

Old 10-17-2011, 10:56 AM

Originally Posted by MattyXXL
That is a valve tap in that video...

What is your oil level at?
How often do you change your oil?
Oil is half right now but I notice that it keeps going down fast like I have a leak somewhere. So I keep putting new oil in because the oil runs out, If I put about 3 quarts of oil in, it last about 1 month in a half. Last time there was an oil change was bout a year ago.

Old 10-17-2011, 12:13 PM
Administrator