Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Timing Belt Time

Old 10-07-2011, 11:25 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing Belt Time

Hey guys...I'm finally going to be doing my timing belt this weekend (after putting it off for the last month). I've got the timing belt kit and read up various instructions I have found on the forums. Any last minute tips/tricks you can recommend? The instructions make it seem pretty easy, just a little time consuming. I plan on replacing the tensioners, water pump and serp belt as well. Unless the cam seals are leaking (which I don't think they are), I'm not touching those.

Old 10-07-2011, 12:39 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I am not a mechanic and have never done it in any other car before, but I did mine by myself the last time. Hardest part for me was getting the old belt out the bottom. I ended up saying the heck with it and cutting the belt. It was easier putting the new one in than getting the old out for some reason.

Make sure you turn it over by hand before using the key and feel for resistance. You can tell what is compression resistance vs metal on metal.

Old 10-07-2011, 01:06 PM

Even if you use a cam locking tool... check and re-check your timing marks before you attempt to start..

Better to be safe than sorry...

Old 10-07-2011, 01:50 PM

Originally Posted by JimKW
I am not a mechanic and have never done it in any other car before, but I did mine by myself the last time. Hardest part for me was getting the old belt out the bottom. I ended up saying the heck with it and cutting the belt. It was easier putting the new one in than getting the old out for some reason.

Make sure you turn it over by hand before using the key and feel for resistance. You can tell what is compression resistance vs metal on metal.

I believe I have read your instructions about doing that. Thanx

Old 10-07-2011, 01:52 PM