Volvo 850 Made from 1993 to 1997, this Volvo line was available in both a wagon and a sedan, both with were graced with several trim levels.

Is a used Volvo 850 a good choice?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2007, 10:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is a used Volvo 850 a good choice?

Hello all,

I am considering buying a used 1993 Volvo 850 GLT. It has 104,000 miles on it,but seems to be in pretty good condition. I test drove it, and the only 2 big problems I noticed is that the accelerator seemed very stiff to push with my foot. I also noticed that some of the service lights on the dash were lit up, not too sure what these mean though.

My main question is this: Are Volvo's very expensive to repair parts/mechanic wise? I know it is a European car, so many mechanics may not know much about the vehicle, but what I basically need is a good beater car to get me around town reliably. I am a car novice, so repairing things myself may not be too much of an option. Do you think a used Volvo is a good idea to purchase?

Old 10-17-2007, 11:27 AM
Default RE: Is a used Volvo 850 a good choice?

If you can't repair a car, I'd advise you to stay away from any European car. If all you want is a beater, you're better off with a Japanese made car. Probably the best deal is to find a Geo Prism, the mechanicals are made by Toyota, but since it doesn't have the Toyota name they can be bought cheap!

Old 10-17-2007, 11:51 AM
Super Moderator
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

However, if you want something that will outlast most other cars then the Volvo is a good choice. If you know or can find the service history of the vehicle that would help to answer some of your questions. If the Volvo will last twice as long as some cars then you have to factor the cost of buying another used vehicle vs. the cost to maintain the Volvo.

Old 10-17-2007, 03:43 PM

ORIGINAL: jeffsenpai

Hello all,