Volvo C30 This compact hatchback gives a sporty feel without compromising versatility.

Do you change your own oil in your T5??

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2018, 01:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do you change your own oil in your T5??

I've owned a 2008 C30 with a T 5 since new. I bought it from San Diego Volvo when I lived in California. Anyway it's my wife's car and she usually took it to a dealer for oil changes and I didn't really follow up on inspecting what the dealer did until one day I found the oil cap lying in the engine bay along with the dip stick and it was a quart low. This was after paying the bill and being told it was ready to go. It was parked outside and I noticed the hood not quite closed and it was the oil cap jammed between the hood and fender that lead me to open the hood.

I'm a mechanic by trade and am now doing the oil changes but have found a discrepancy in the oil capacity listed in the owners manual as well as several other sources. The manual says 6.1 US quarts (5.8L). After putting 6 quarts in and starting the engine to check for leaks and allowing time for the oil to drain back into the pan the oil level is 1/4 from the bottom of the hash mark low level of the dip stick meaning it would require another quart to be full. The manual states the low or minimum level on the stick would require another (1.3L) or 1.4 quarts to indicate full so 1/4 way up means about 1 qt more. This would mean (If the dipstick is correct) that an oil change with filter in this car would be 7 qts (6.62L) not 6.1 qts (5.8L).

Have any of you that do your own oil changes found the capacity not the same as the manual? If so how much oil are you putting in your T5?
Thanks

Old 03-15-2019, 05:52 AM
Default T5 Oil Change Procedure

I documented this when I owned my first C30 T5 in 2007 that covers many other older Volvo models. I recently purchased a 2011 C30 T5 Level 1 and am anxious to perform its first oil change under my ownership.