Volvo C70 This sporty coupe has a three-piece retractable hardtop for unsurpassed fun whether the the top is up or down.

1999 C70 timing belt tensioner failed

Search this Thread

Old 07-26-2009, 11:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 C70 timing belt tensioner failed

Hello, I'm new to this and am not sure if I'm even posting this in the correct location. I just purcahsed a 99 Volvo C70 with the 2.3 HPT and 108,000 miles. I bought the car not running from the previous owner only stating that it ran fine until parked and wouldn't start (not sure how much truth there is to that) They tried starting it numerous times thinking the battery was dead or weak and finally gave up. I looked at the car and had someone crank it while looking under the oil cap and noticed the cams moving so thought that the timing belt is in tact. Upon further inspection, when I got it home I removed the timing belt cover and discovered the tensioner exploded and there were peices everywhere. The belt was still and tact but I believe it must have jumped some teeth or something. I have no idea if the valves are bent especially since there were attempts to start it while it was in this state. The engine cranked slowly, I'm not sure if that was because the battery was low though. At this point I'm trying to decide if I want to line everything up and just replace the belt, tensioner, etc. and see if it'll run? Any ideas or suggestions? Also, how do I determine where top dead center is so I can line up the timing marks to install the new belt? Is it possible to install an engine from 98 (without the VVT) into my 99 without major modifcations? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Old 07-27-2009, 04:14 AM

Hi

My understanding is that the valves will have fouled the pistons, things will have bent, and there's liklely to be debris in the cylinders.

Personally, I'd give it a go - the engine may run, or may be (almost) scrap.