Volvo C70 This sporty coupe has a three-piece retractable hardtop for unsurpassed fun whether the the top is up or down.

C70 T5 Modification/ Tuning ???

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2014, 11:56 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow C70 T5 Modification/ Tuning ???

Hello guys Recently I have bought a 2001 Volvo C70 T5 (2.3) . I like the car but there are few things that I want to improve.
First thing the car is originally 236 hp but mine shows 225. How can I get these lost horsepowers back ?
And the second thing is I want to add a little bit on the car. After restorating it to its real power, maybe I can add like 10-15 more, I can improve gas reaction and shifting a bit, some suspension modifications and I also want a nice exhaust/engine sound. What would you be your recommendations ? I am a student so I have limited budget, I just wanna add some spice to the car without breaking its originality and causing any damage to the engine etc.
Looking forward for replies !! My car means a lot to me !!

Old 12-05-2014, 03:07 PM
Default Spend the cash elsewhere.

My suggestion is NOT to tune.
This is a 15 year old car. No sense tuning something that will die if you haven't taken care of basic maintenance.
When was the last time the transmission gear oil was changed?
When was the last time the PS fluid was replaced?
When was the last time the timing belt was replaced?
When was the last time brake fluid was changed?
When was the last time the air filter was changed?
When was the last time the spark plugs were changed?

If you can't answer these questions, then take care of them as you don't know how well or poorly the car has been treated by the previous owner(s).

Have you had someone check out the suspension and CV boots for wear and tear?

Once you've taken care of the above, and assure that your car will last, and be reliable you can consider some upgrades.

Old 12-08-2014, 12:17 PM

Originally Posted by david9999
My suggestion is NOT to tune.