Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

2001 S40 headlight problem

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2012, 09:46 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2001 S40 headlight problem

2001 s40 1.9T

Drivers side low beam is out. New bulb - checked fuse. With bulb out, volt meter on connector reads 11.4V. Plug the bulb in and it won't light. I get 0v across the bulb spade lugs with the bulb partially inserted. I checked these results against the passenger side and I get the same voltage with the bulb unplugged but still get 11.4v with the bulb partially plugged in (and pass. side works). Does this sound like a CEM problem? I've checked the forum and there are many headlight problems but they all seem to have 0v on the plug. Anyone seen this before?

thanks

Old 07-16-2012, 08:50 AM

If it is any consolation, I should have checked the forums. I just asked the same question.... I am no electrician, so I am hoping someone here can answer the question.

Same year car.

I am thinking that since the relay is on the Central Electronic Module (CEM), it needs to be fixed or replaced, but want to confirm.

Another question is, if I replace the CEM, do I need to reprogram the car with the dealer software???? The CEM is expensive, but not terrible used.... But the dealer would likely double the cost to fix.

Last edited by LarryNH914; 07-16-2012 at 08:51 AM. Reason: cem, not ces
Old 07-16-2012, 09:01 AM

This guy had the same problem. Voltage present.

Seems it is the CEM. He plugged in a new one and it worked without VADIS dealer software, so I think I will try it. I report back in a week or 2.

2000 V40 headlight issue - Troubleshooting and DIYs - 30 Forty 50

Old 07-19-2012, 08:42 PM
Default s40 headlight

I had exact same problem. Cost me $8 plus some soldering to fix.
I used this relays
GENERAL PURPOSE 12-VOLT D.C. 12-AMP SPDT RELAY
ordered at frys (Radio Shack was out of them)

FRYS.com | NTE