Volvo S40 The S40 is Volvo's most affordable sedan with all the amenities of a luxury sports car.

Another Potential S40 purchaser

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2009, 06:42 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Potential S40 purchaser

I'm thinking about purchasing my wife a newer s40. I haven't researched much about them, but she has expressed interest and so I am wondering a couple of things.

Currently we have a 2006 Jetta that she drives around. I adore this car. I purchased a Vag Com system and the ability to communicate with everything in the car is awesome. I saw that the Volvo's used a Vidas (spelling?) diagnostic system up to 2005, what system do they use now? Where are the cars assembled?

I would like to get here the AWD version, most likely loaded. What are the general concerns/grips that people have with Volvo's in general? I have read that some of their parts are a little "retarded" when it comes to cost. I am a mechanic for the Coast Guard and would be performing most of my scheduled maintenaince (don't the new ones come with service included?).

I'm sure there are people that have complaints about the cars, and would love to hear their argument as well. Like I said previously, we both really enjoy the Jetta, and were also looking at maybe a Passat or Tiguan in leu of the S40, or maybe the S60.

Overall, I'm looking to see if it would be a wise investment. I realize that Volvo's are known for their safety and the inability for the engine to ever die. I had always wondered what the little emblems you saw on the older Volvo's meant, 100K, 200K, 300K etc.

If you had the opportunity to purchase the S40 again, would you do it?

Thank you for any help.

Dave

Last edited by cuban11182; 06-04-2009 at 06:46 PM.
Old 06-04-2009, 10:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts