Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.

bulb position failure message.

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2010, 03:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bulb position failure message.

my message screen shows the message "bulb position failure" and i do not know what this means. i am new to volvo, and i am not sure where to find the meanings of the messages or how to go about getting it reset.

also it says that it is time for regualr service, but i just had the oil changed, and it is like it just needs to be turned off, doi have to go to a dealership for this?
thank you

Old 03-27-2010, 03:58 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The bulb msg is letting you know you have a light out somewhere on your car. And the service reminder light can be shut off at home but I can't remember the procedure to do it off the top of my head. I'll get it for you when I get off work if nobody has chimed in by then.

Old 03-27-2010, 04:51 PM

thank you so much. i am going to find out today what light is out!

Old 03-27-2010, 09:00 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The method for the '02+
MY 2002+
The service reminder indicator (SRI) informs the driver that it is time for the car to be serviced. The text message is displayed for 120 s each time the ignition is switched on.
Proceed as follows to reset the service reminder indicator (SRI):
-Ignition position I
-Press and hold in the reset button for the trip odometer
-Ignition position II.
Note! Turn the key to position II within 2 seconds.
-Hold the reset button for the trip meter pressed in until the original value has been reset.
Note! For all vehicles from the 2003 model year a general yellow lamp will light when the reset button must be released.
-Release the reset button for the trip odometer within 4 seconds. The instrument gives an audible signal when resetting has succeeded