Volvo S60 & V60 The mid level Volvo sedan and wagon that offer power, performance and an exciting ride.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Question about S60 reliability

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2014, 04:52 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Question about S60 reliability

I'm looking at possibly getting a 2003 S60 with 286,939 km on it and have a question or two. I'm new to Volvos and have heard they are very reliable. I'll be replacing a 2005 Ford Taurus wagon. Might also consider the V70 but the S60 seems a little more attractive.

First am I pushing my luck with that many Kilometers on it?

Second what should I look for when I take it out for a test drive and what should I expect for maintenance issues?

Thanks for your information.

Old 05-28-2014, 04:40 AM
Banned

Hey IanChristie1972,

Firstly, welcome to Volvo Forums!

About the S60, if you're living in a state with lots of snow, check the undercarriage etc for rust. If there's rust you might as well just pass. Volvos are very reliable as long as they have had a good owner and regular services as well as oil changes I guess. Volvos are built like tanks, my old V40 ran to 141000km until I sold it but it ran like a dream (well it was a fleet vehicle before I bought it and it didn't have a very good owner before me).

As for the kilometres, you should be looking at the service records. Control arms and other various parts such as the timing belt need to be replaced at about 8 years of age. When you take it for a test drive, see how the transmission fairs and whether the steering is responsive. Don't forget to make sure that there are no fault lights and that the A/C blows (this may sound dumb but it stopped working on my V40 once). Make sure that there are service records and consistent km's too if you can.