Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

1998 S70 Engine Says, "Nah, I Quit".

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2011, 01:33 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1998 S70 Engine Says, "Nah, I Quit".

Hello, all! I'm new here, but I've been loving Volvos as a kid since 2001 (read my introduction thread here).

Anyways, my older brother has an S70. He had it since December 2006; a few months after the 1993 850 GLT we had was totaled.

However, he moved away back in June to work, and, for about a year now, his S70 refuses to start, and we still don't know why. He seriously doesn't want it anymore, and it has been sitting in the driveway for nearly a year now, so I thought this would be a good starting project for me.

Earlier this year, after returning two of the wrong fuel pump modules, my brother finally got the right module for that particular S70 model, and a close friend of ours (who worked as a GM mechanic for over two decades), placed the new fuel pump on there and I think he did some other stuff with the S70, too. It finally started; However, after a few seconds, it splutters and shuts off, even to this day.

Two days ago, after a few months from the failed attempts, we have recharged the car battery, and everything electrical seems to work again. The ignition motor sounds very fresh now, but the engine attempting to start to sounds worse than ever, and it farts.

Yesterday, I looked up this issue on a later 2000 S70, and the most frequent answer to this issue was the sensor not detecting the flywheel do to rusting or damage (Volvo S70 - Car Forums - Edmunds). Other answers were fuel pump (tsk tsk), crankshaft, and a bad computer wire, but I would like some insight from Volvo enthusiasts!

Thanks, everyone! I might upload some photos of the car, too. I apologize for the long rant.

Old 08-30-2011, 08:14 AM
Administrator
Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts