Volvo S70 Made from 1998 to 2000, this sporty model replaced the 850 sedan and instantly became a hit.

S70 Intermittently does not start, rough idle, and oil gunk

Search this Thread

Old 03-14-2013, 02:38 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default S70 Intermittently does not start, rough idle, and oil gunk

This is my first time ever posting here. I'm not very mechanically inclined, I just want to have some ideas of what's wrong before I ask a mechanic.

So there's three possibly separate or related issues with my 1998 S70 GLT. The radiator was recently (about a month and a half ago) replaced due to a hole that was poked in it. As far as we know, the car never got too hot, even though it was gushing radiator fluid, we noticed immediately that the temps were higher than normal and stopped very frequently on the drive home and to the shop to add water so the car didn't fully overheat. We didn't think that it caused further damage but maybe it did? Since fixing the radiator, the temps have been normal (and even before, we never let it get into the red part of the gauge) and no fluid leaks that we have seen.

So now, the car intermittently does not start. It doesn't turn over, it does nothing. We've checked the voltage on the battery and everything there seems to be fine. When the keys are in, the lights all come on at normal volume, but when the key is turned, we hear a clicking noise and all the lights shut off until the key is returned to a neutral position. Then, other times, it will start up no problem. Literally like there was nothing ever wrong. This has been going on for about a week.