Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

Help with CEL?

Search this Thread

Old 01-04-2010, 07:05 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help with CEL?

Hi Everyone.

I'm new to post but have been reading this site for awhile and have found some great info, thank you all. I've got another problem now and need some help.

The CEL came on and my scanner, a scan gauge II, showed p0030 (HO2S Heater Control Circuit, Bank 1 Sensor 1) . OK, I changed the front right/passenger O2 sensor with a Bosch replacement. After the 2nd start CEL came on again and I got a p0031 code (HO2S Heater Control Circuit Low, Bank 1 Sensor 1). I realized that I had reset the OBD with my scan gauge but had never disconnected the battery. I once again reset with my scan gauge, disconnected the battery for an hour, and looked for any obvious vacuum leaks. I did find 2 lines disconnected on the intake (front of the engine ~8 inches after the air cleaner). Feeling pretty confident, I put it all together and went for a drive. All was great until I stopped for some groceries. Upon restart I got the p0030 code and CEL again.

I'm wondering what to do next? My plan was to get some carb/intake cleaner in the morning (I'm out) and spray around the air connections while the engine is running and listen for any leaks. It looks good but I'll verify. Beyond that I'm stumped. I read some posts about having to change both O2 sensors but I wonder if I missed something? The p0030 code is the front (before Cat) right or passenger side sensor correct? Do I really need to change the left as well? I couldn't get the clip back on the wire connector, could that be why it came back on? It seemed like a good tight connection.

I really don't want to drop another $170 for a sensor.

It's a 2001 S80 T6 with 90,000 miles on it.

Thanks,

Steve

ps. For everyone wondering how to change the sensor, here's what I did: