Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

The mass air flow sensor

  #1  
Old 07-18-2009, 07:37 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default The mass air flow sensor

In the last 2 months I've needed 4 new mass air flow sensors. I am getting the same issue again, the car will fight to stall out with bouncing rpm revs... If they take a look at it Im sure they would say mass air flow sensor again, but Im concerned something else is wrong with the car.

The spark plugs were just changed ( I did them my self for the first time ! - really fun) with NGK plugs. They work great, but I think I may have tightened them a little too much :/, surprisingly the area in the spark plug was extremely clean! - like I didnt even have to clean the area. The irratic rpm revs were happening before the change of spark plugs.

Now inbetween all this Mass Flow Sensor replacement, They found corrosion on the ECM connections, so I believe that could be the culprit? which would explain the stall outs and bad rpm revs.
 
  #2  
Old 07-18-2009, 07:39 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

That is possible or there is a big leak somewhere.
 
  #3  
Old 07-18-2009, 07:40 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

wow tech that was fast lol, I just wanted to add that my Rear view mirror snapped at the joint, please tell me I dont need the new mirror and I just need the plastic pin that holds it to the roof...
 
  #4  
Old 07-18-2009, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

I do not notice any fluid under the car either tech.
 
  #5  
Old 07-18-2009, 08:48 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

You might need a new mirror.

I mean a vacuum leak not an oil or coolant leak.
 
  #6  
Old 07-20-2009, 10:31 AM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

turned out to be a crack in the throttle hose? is this easy to do? they said its plastic They said its located between the throttle body and something else.
 
  #7  
Old 07-20-2009, 07:10 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

It is kind of a pain but you should be able to handle it.
 
  #8  
Old 07-21-2009, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

I feel really embarassed to say this ... lol.. Where is the throttle hose located, Im not even sure where the throttle body is ... What kind of tools will I need, is an hour suffice enough to do this? thanks in advance. (I mentioned this earlier, I've done my own brakes and rotors as well as spark plugs). I tried to search on the internet of how to do this but no luck. Thanks in advance
 
  #9  
Old 07-21-2009, 07:38 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

The throttle body is under the intake manifold. It looks kind of like a rectangle with a white or yellow sticker.
 
  #10  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:07 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

do I have to take the intake manifold apart to get to the piece Im going to change?
 
  #11  
Old 07-21-2009, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

is this what I am going to ultimately replace?
 
Attached Thumbnails The mass air flow sensor-throttle-hose.jpg  
  #12  
Old 07-22-2009, 06:46 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

No the intake can stay where it is.
 
  #13  
Old 07-22-2009, 07:29 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

Yes that looks like the one!
 
  #14  
Old 07-25-2009, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Burlington, ma
Posts: 1,129
Default

Thanks for your help tech, I was able to do the repair, they ended up giving me the throttle hose for free. It also seemed to resolve the problem where I was having random fluctuations in my acceleration, feels more powerful too.
 
  #15  
Old 07-25-2009, 09:11 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

Congrats on a well done job!
 
  #16  
Old 08-31-2009, 02:42 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 85
Default

Hi tech the Volvo dealership said I had a faulty MAF($411.00) on my 2001 S60 2.4t. I bought a new one from another source. I replaced with the exact same sensor. Before I changed the MAF the car was running good except I had a check engine light. Now the cars RPM surges while stopped and in drive. Can you help me with this? Is there a way to reset the check engine light as that was the only code I had? Do you reccomend premium fuel could this be the problem since I usually run regular. Thanks mstrplmber
 

Last edited by mstrplmber; 08-31-2009 at 02:45 PM. Reason: I searched the site and did not realize I was in a S80 thread
  #17  
Old 08-31-2009, 07:52 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

Use premium fuel.
Have the code cleared then reset the car by disconnecting the battery for 5 minutes.
The car needs to lean that a new sensor is in there.
 
  #18  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:04 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 85
Default Resetting the code

Can anyone clear the code for instance, Auto Zone Or Oreilly's? All the information I have received from you has been right on the money. Thank You again!!!!!
 
  #19  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location:
Posts: 85
Default

Hi Tech First I need to tell you I only replaced the sensor, is ther something else that needs to be done with the plastic housing? I went to a reputable mechanic here and was told the MAF that was installed was bad and I was dumping raw fuel in the C-converter which runs $3000.00 and they would not clear the code furthermore he said that disconnecting the battery would erase the memory in the computer. Sounds fishy to me. He suggested I put the old one back in. Is it normal when you replace a MAF that the car would run different and in my case worse than before the change. I have a friend that goes to Nascar Tecnical Institute who says he can clear the code. How can I tell if the MAF I installed is bad? Thanks again
 
  #20  
Old 09-01-2009, 07:03 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default

If he has a good scanner have him read the real time data on the sensor.
Try installing the old one and see if it gets better.

I never install the insert only because they are supposed to be calibrated to the housing.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: The mass air flow sensor


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.