Volvo S80 A performance sedan that offers top notch luxury, outstanding handling and so much more.

turbos not activating?

  #1  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:16 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default turbos not activating?

Hi, I'm hoping someone can help me. My 99 Volvo S80 T6 with 75kmi doesnt seem to be getting the power it should. It would seem that the turbos are not activating or are deactivating prematurely. I had a bad boost control solenoid and replaced it, but that doesnt seem to have helped.

Should I try a shot of compressed air into the hoses that go from the boost control solenoid, would that hurt/harm anything? The rubber lines are clear but I'm wondering if there is something plugged elsewhere...

Are there any other thoughts out there on what I could check before I wind up at the dealer?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 02-07-2008, 10:20 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

ps, no codes
 
  #3  
Old 02-07-2008, 07:32 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: turbos not activating?

Do you have access to tools?
Like a vaccum gauge?
If so connect it to a regular vaccum source. Drive the car and see if the vaccum changes to pressure.
If it doesn't then I would have to say the turbo's are bad.

I have seen alot of them go bad. It is usually from neglect from not changing the oil enough.
You could also remove the pipes and check the turbo. But it won't 100% tell you either. Usuall the exhaust side of the turbo shaft will snap.
 
  #4  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:17 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

New information...


I've found that at idle and when I rev in neutral the drivers side turbo is on, the passenger side isnt pumping any air. Does this mean its shot, or could there be something else going on here?

how hard is it to change the passenger side turbo myself?
 
  #5  
Old 02-09-2008, 12:35 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: turbos not activating?

It is just time consuming to change it.
Sounds like yes it is bad.

But if you can I would change both this way you don't change the other one a week later.
 
  #6  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:05 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

Thanks, I pulled off the shield and I see that it doesnt look too hard to change myself

I wanted to try one other thing first though, I dont see a wastegate controller like was on the 850's, do you know if there is a way to check and see if the wastegate is just wide open when it shouldnt be?
 
  #7  
Old 02-09-2008, 02:05 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: turbos not activating?

If you add pressure to the hose at the watse gate it should move the wastegate.
 
  #8  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:01 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

ok, wastegate open/closed, no difference. Is the only other possibility the turbo?
 
  #9  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:07 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

and can it be rebuilt?
 
  #10  
Old 02-09-2008, 05:45 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: turbos not activating?

I have heard of some people getting them rebuilt and others cannot find parts to rebuild.
It all depends on the area. The last ones I installed we had to ship from Florida to Texas to get them rebuilt.

Usually they seize up and snap the shafts.
 
  #11  
Old 02-10-2008, 07:47 AM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

Thanks, so much for all your help/answers.

I thought maybe I could rebuild it myself, I'm not afraid to buy the parts and special tools if its going to be cheaper than buying another.Think its worth it?

I have a feeling the shaft is snapped.... does that mean no rebuild?

Found a used one for $315 w/lifetime warranty, does that seem reasonable?
 
  #12  
Old 02-10-2008, 07:55 AM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: turbos not activating?

That sounds like a great Deal. I woudl try to find the other one like I said above.
This way you don't have to tear it all apart again for the other one.
 
  #13  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:22 PM
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 12
Default RE: turbos not activating?

thanks. so now I have it all back together, I'll probably order the turbo this week. But, now that I have it together I have a misfire on cylinder 6 (p0306). Can you tell me which cylinder is #6?
 
  #14  
Old 02-10-2008, 05:47 PM
tech's Avatar
Administrator
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 36,351
Default RE: turbos not activating?

#6 is the drivers side of the engine.
Rule of thumb is #1 is always by the timing belt.
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Disco2
General Volvo Chat
12
12-16-2016 12:07 AM
Injabs
Volvo C70
0
05-18-2013 11:57 AM
peterz
Volvo S60 & V60
1
12-26-2010 06:20 PM
appleburger
Volvo 240, 740 & 940
1
05-02-2005 08:43 PM
speewee21
Volvo S60 & V60
1
01-13-2005 01:09 AM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: turbos not activating?


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.