Volvo V40 A super safe wagon, this attainable Volvo offers something for everyone.

Volvo V40 making a worrying clunk noise.

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2013, 02:52 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Volvo V40 making a worrying clunk noise.

Hi, all,

This is my first time posting here; I apologize for not formally introducing myself in the New Members Area but I'm honestly not sure how much longer I'm gonna be a Volvo driver so I don't want to form too many attachments...

So, I drive this 2000 Volvo V40 and it's been giving me a fair amount of trouble and it needs a lot of work done, and I'm honestly about ready to be done with it. I thought I might check with those more knowledgeable than myself, though, before giving up on it altogether.

Basically, a couple days ago I started noticing this clunk in the front end, on the driver side. It happens more when you're driving slowly, or going over bumps, or when you're turning...you can feel it under your feet. I had a sway bar mount go, and it feels a lot like that, but both sway bar mounts are still attached properly.

When the car is stopped, and I turn the wheel all the way over to the right, it also makes a clunking noise (presumably related). It sounds like it's coming more from the center than the left when I do that. It was suggested that it might be a CV link/axle, but when I called the dealer to ask how much that would be, he said it sounded "more like a bushing", and not like an axle problem.

The dealer wants $50-$100 for a diagnosis, which might be worth it, but then I think about how the cat needs to be replaced, and three of the four struts also clunk (ironically, all but the passenger side front), and the hatch doesn't open properly, and the rear passenger window doesn't roll down, and the thing drinks three quarts of oil a month, and my gas mileage has gone down by like five mpg in the last six months or so...