Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

98 v70 xc awd, new to me, stutter

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2012, 09:01 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 98 v70 xc awd, new to me, stutter

Hi All,
I'm new to the wide world of Volvo with my 98 V70 XC wagon. I don't trust car shops as far as I can throw one, but I'm a Motorcycle mechanic, not a car mechanic. So here I am without the answers, or even a very good Idea of how these cars are supposed to perform, or the intimate details of their functioning.

This site has given me some great advice that I've already applied to my wagon, but I'm still having some issues. Hope someone can help.

My volvo was tuned up just before I got it by Jollyville Auto in austin, tx, who I am naming because of their behavior. They caharged the previous owners Over $110 for spark plugs in their tune-up! Yea, just the Part, labor was on top of that. Who knew this was a double plugged head?!? LOL. They stuck a Fram filter on it and the way the oil felt when I drained it felt and looked like Penzoil! So sad... Just did oil, MAF/throttle body clean up, plugs, wires, cap, rotor, $700.
Since I got it there have been a few issues that I've treated.

I was getting a sudden drop in Rps both at Idle and on the road. It seemed like the spark just stopped for a turn of the engine. Some times you could smell the raw fuel for a second. My thought was somthing was grounding out, probably the coil. I checked this site out and decided to move the wiring on the Cam Position sensor, I think, and that helped... for 2 days.

Same intermittent problem. I had checked the Coil and my Ohm meter said it was fine, but then I saw it arc through the side wall in the dark, so I replaced it with a VOLVO COIL. Fixed the Problem for 2 days.