Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

A/C Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2021, 12:32 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A/C Question

Hi all, I have a 2004 Volvo V70, FWD, non Turbo 2.4. I have a question regarding the A/C on these vehicles. I'm fairly new to the Volvo platform, as in I just purchased this car about a month ago and did my first timing belt job on it with the invaluable literature and information on this site and other Volvo specific sites. That said, I am nowhere near the expert and would like some direction if this is normal operation for a car like this.

The A/C in this car works, albeit it isn't as cold as I would like, but I assume it is a little low on refrigerant (it did spend its life in Florida, now imported to Canada), so I am assuming the A/C was always on in the Florida heat. What I am experiencing is that the A/C seems to depend on the RPM's of the engine, as in when the RPM's lower, the air pushing through changes with the RPM's. At normal highway speeds the air blows as you would expect.

The fan speeds all work, but when it is on any of the speeds the air will fluctuate based on the RPM's. Everything about the HVAC system works too, which is why I am not sure if it's just a Volvo quirk.

I added dye to the system to determine if there were any leaks, but AFAIK there is zero leaks after two weeks of testing and inspection.

Any clarification or other tests I can perform are welcome.

Thanks.

Old 08-21-2021, 11:07 AM
Received 599 Likes on 565 Posts

Originally Posted by Appsro93
2004 Volvo V70, FWD, non Turbo 2.4.

The fan speeds all work, but when it is on any of the speeds the air will fluctuate based on the RPM's.
That is not normal - 1ST test I would do is make sure the voltage is the car is stable at high and low rpms. - as in the voltage regulator is not regulating.