Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

Experienced technician needs HELP!!! with a crazy acting volvo

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2009, 07:20 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Experienced technician needs HELP!!! with a crazy acting volvo

Ok so just a quick note about me, I am a professional auto tech with 15 yrs experience and ase certs honda toyota blah blah blah. More importantly this nutty volvo. I bought it from a friend and no joke an hour later it is broken bad. Here are some symptoms and what ive tried. Rough idle, hesitation, something i will describe as a jutter on attempted accel. Now some facts ETS light is on and has been for a while. Car goes in and out of limp mode (i assume this) car sometimes has niod to #1 #2 #4, sometimes not, has no pcm signal to #2 coil. I am begging for some ideas. Am I looking at a bad ETM causing all this, Is the PCM shot, is it potentially bad pcm ground or socket connections. I am at a loss. By the way alternator voltage is 13.96v, I have cleaned all ground connections I could see easily, I took the ETM off and cleaded and stared at it (staring seemed to do no good, odd). HELP!!!

Old 09-05-2009, 07:24 PM

What year and model Volvo needed first!

Old 09-05-2009, 07:30 PM

Oh yeah, that will help eh. I really am not an idiot just frustrated and tired I have been on this all day. Anyway 1999 VOLVO V70 XC 5cyl turbo AWD. Thanks.

Old 09-05-2009, 07:40 PM

No worries.... I would say check your MAF. Seems to be a weak point on all Volvos. Unplug it and see how it runs.

Old 09-05-2009, 07:45 PM

Yeah I been there too, the first time i unplugged it while running it died. Then I unplugged it and started it tryin to throttle it to keep running and could but the other issues still seemed to be there. I have never seen a bad maf cause lack of noid or no coil signal, can that do that on volvo cars?

Old 09-05-2009, 07:45 PM