Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

please help! 99 v70r is overheating! HOT HOT HOT

Search this Thread

Old 09-25-2007, 06:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default please help! 99 v70r is overheating! HOT HOT HOT

Hi all, I'm looking for some help. I've got a 99 v70r that has been overheating, and I'm looking for some suggestions of what to look at next.

I'm trying to get this solved ASAP, because I REALLY need my car up & running for the weekend (plans for my birthday with my girlfriend)

Before I go on, I want to point out, I'm no mechanic, not by far, so please feel free to treat me like an idiot or point out flaws in anything I say. Thus far, we've been troubleshooting based on help from family, but may be completely barking up the wrong tree.

Ok, so background on what's going on. (this may or may not be related to the overheating problem). There was an odor coming from the heating system, which we believed to be caused by a leak in the heater core. Some stop leak was put in the system (note: car was not using volvo coolant, but standard green type coolant). Very shortly (24 hours or so) after the stop leak was put into the coolant system, the car started running hot. There was a visible sludge in the reservoir, so we went under the assumption that it may have gunked up the system somewhat & decided to flush it & start with new coolant.

So, after flushing the rad (yay! no more gunk) the car is still overheating, obviously this was not my problem.

An attempt was made to replace the thermostat, but one of the torx bolts got rounded, and we can't get the housing off. (side note: good suggestions for removing it would also be greatly appreciated.. I assume I'm going to have to drill it our or something at this point, but I was scared to do that.. can't get it with vice grips)