Volvo V70 Super capacity, super looks, super performance... this wagon turns heads and can still get the job done.

Used Car Quirks

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2007, 10:38 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Used Car Quirks

I just bought a 2000 V70 about 3 weeks ago and love it. However, slowly but surely, all the usualused car quirks are surfacing and it's time to address them. I have noticed a few things that I would like to fix, but need a little help in getting started. First things first, does anyone know where I can get a shop service manual (PDF, CD, Hard copy)? I have used the Chiltons/Haynes for other cars I've owned, and they get the job done. But being an engineer, I have the unquenchable thirst for knowledge of how things work. As an amateur mechanic, I enjoy doing the work myself (and I do it carefully and correctlysince it's my car!) so having a service manual would be ideal. Next, a short rundown of the quirks I've noticed thus far:

1) Switch for adjustment of the driver'sseat doesn't work in the forward direction. You can move the seat in all directions but forward. And it actually can be moved forward by using the "driver pre-sets", so I know the motor is good. Just an issue with the adjustment switch or it's connections.

2) Rear driver's side window switch doesn't work. Again, the window can be rolled down from the drivers seat switch, so I know the motor is good, but the actual switch in the rear seat won't control the window. Either the switch or some connection between the switch and motor.