Volvo XC70 This wagon/SUV crossover offers the capabilities of an SUV without SUV size.

XC70 Newbie

Search this Thread

Old 02-09-2008, 11:30 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default XC70 Newbie

Greetings everyone!

I'm a newbie to the forum and have just purchased an 01 XC70 for my wife and our new baby. I am a novice when it comes to car mechanics so I'm hoping to learn from some of you pros here on this forum. I'd like to start making my own simple repairs as I'm having a hard time trusting service providers. Most people have the bottom line $$$ in mind and integrity isn't even an after thought these days.

Anyhoo that being said I have had some problems already with the check engine light coming on after only 4 days of having the car. So took it to my mechanic and the code related to a bulletin about cleaning out carbonfrom a sensor. Well, that didn't fix it because only a couple of days later the light was back and I couldn't start the car. Just wasn't turning over. Battery checked out fine though. The next day it did start up thoughm so I took it back to the mechanic. They then replaced the starter whch my 3 month warranty covered 80% of. But the engine light came back again and this time I took it to Volvo. Volvo replaced the VVT Solenoid (not covered by the warranty) but that didn't work either. So it went back to Volvo and they now tell me it's the VVT unit itself at $700.70.

I called the dealer who I bought it from and they say they will take a look at it and fix it. But I really don't know if I can trust them to fix it properly. At the same time I don't really want to pay Volvo $700 and then for the light to come back on again.

Any advice from you seasoned professionals would be very welcome.

Thanks, Matt

Old 02-09-2008, 11:34 AM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts
Default RE: XC70 Newbie

I would take it back to who you bought it from.