Volvo XC90 This mid-sized SUV offers the driver and passengers Volvo luxury and quality with sport utility capability.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Possible ECU Problem

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2010, 05:39 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Possible ECU Problem

Hello everyone

Newbie here to the forums. My wife and I just took over our parents 2004 XC90. Love it! A week after of having it, we ran into a problem.

When I start it up, it starts up normal then all the lights on mph etc... dash goes out and all of the needles drops to like it would be if the the car was turned off.

When I press on the gas pedal, it takes quite a bit of pressing on the pedal to get it to go. Towed it to Volvo this morning and they told us its something with the ECU. They had reset the ECU and the car is working fine now. They don't know what caused it to do what it did and isn't sure if it would happen again. To replace the ECU, it is going to cost $1,100.00.

My biggest concern is it going to happened again while my wife with our 2 kids are in the car in the FL heat.

If I can get some feedback as to if I should replace the ECU or could it be something else.

Thank you in advance for any feedback.
TTran

Old 02-22-2010, 09:36 PM
Administrator
Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

I would wait and see if it happens again. I have not seen the modules fail in an XC90 as of yet.
Maybe it was just a fluke.

Old 06-08-2011, 12:50 PM
kaw
Default ECU failure