Notices
Wheels, Tires and other Exterior Talk about your rims, body kits, and other exterior mods here.

hid conversion kit question plz help!!!

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2014, 12:16 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hid conversion kit question plz help!!!

I have a 99 s80 t6 and want to do a hid conversion but don't know if I can trust eBay and the cheaper models or if I don't need to spend a ton of money from another company. Any answers/ recommendations are appreciated. Looking to spend as little as possible but still get good quality bulbs.

Thank you,
kevin

Old 05-25-2014, 08:22 PM

Upfront caveat: I have no experience with converting any Volvo to HIDs.
BUT, I have experience with converting a 2005 VW Passat GLX fog lights and projector-style low beams to HIDs. Based on that successful conversion, I highly recommend the products from DDM Tuning (ddmtuning.com). For the USA market at least, they are based in California with their products manufactured in and shipped from China.
NOTE: They do not offer "kits" necessarily (check their website), but if you know what you want/need, their products are first-rate and they solidly stand behind them.
Case in point for my VW: I knew I was essentially dealing with projector-style applications with the fog lights and the low beams. (BTW, I would only recommend retrofitting projector-style housings to HID due to the unpredictability of the light diffusion in a non-projector-style application.) (And I should also note that due to the vintage of your application, you probably should not be concerned with CAN BUS conflicts either.)
I also had researched and knew the end effect in terms of light output and color that I wanted.